screen lockup with Sierra

Discussion of issues related to macOS Sierra
Post Reply
Gary Velie
Forum Member - Level 1
Forum Member - Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: Port Angeles

screen lockup with Sierra

Post by Gary Velie » Sat Oct 08, 2016 1:28 pm

I have experienced my screen totally locking up several times. It absolutely freezes and I am not able to move the m
cursor with either the mouse or the track pad.

I have also experienced several applications failing to load promptly and displaying the rotating beach ball. When that happens I am able to to the apple menu and force quit the application.

Any suggestions?

User avatar
Stephen Hart
Forum Member - Level 5
Forum Member - Level 5
Posts: 3105
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:09 am

Re: screen lockup with Sierra

Post by Stephen Hart » Sun Oct 09, 2016 3:15 pm

Just a guess, but this sounds like it might be a system file that the OS can't find.
If you saved the installer you could reinstall.

I'm assuming you have a good backup.
"Design is not just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
Steve Jobs

User avatar
Jay Cline
Forum Member - Level 4
Forum Member - Level 4
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: A sleepy little mill town with a smokestack or two on one end.

Re: screen lockup with Sierra

Post by Jay Cline » Mon Oct 10, 2016 7:57 am

-----------------
This is where I'd normally write an impressive summary of my skills and proficiencies.

User avatar
Stephen Hart
Forum Member - Level 5
Forum Member - Level 5
Posts: 3105
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:09 am

Re: screen lockup with Sierra

Post by Stephen Hart » Mon Oct 10, 2016 2:57 pm

I skimmed the discussions Jay posted links to and two things jump out:

Non-native drivers, Logitech was mentioned.
More than one display connected (perhaps also requiring a driver).

Do either of those apply to you?
"Design is not just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
Steve Jobs

User avatar
Ray Bentsen
Administrator
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:22 pm
Location: Sequim, WA

Re: screen lockup with Sierra

Post by Ray Bentsen » Mon Oct 10, 2016 7:40 pm

I know that i had to update my Logitech Control Center to v3.9.4 after installing Sierra. I had lockups and some spontaneous display sleeping after first installing Sierra, but after the Logitech update I now have no issues.

And, yes I have two of these devices ... so that I always have one fully charged. (but I always also have a wired mouse plugged in, for just this type of situation)

;)
Attachments
Screenshot 1195.png
Screenshot 1195.png (138.74 KiB) Viewed 752 times
An old Norse adage: Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine.

BarbJ
Forum Member - Level 1
Forum Member - Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:10 am

Re: screen lockup with Sierra

Post by BarbJ » Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:49 pm

Increase disk space to install Sierra
Postby BarbJ » Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:53 am
I originally posted this to another section of the forum. I don't know if this is the same problem you had, but this is what I did:
I tried to install Sierra without enough disk space, and the installer program told me I didn't have enough space and I would have to restart and try again. I restarted and it came up with the same message. I finally looked in the installer and chose my startup disk, restarted it, and it went back to my old familiar startup screen. I began trashing old files and thought, there must be a more efficient way to free up space. I went on the Apple website and found this: https://support.apple.com/kb/PH19068?locale=en_US I hope it helps any of you with the same problem.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests