cable modem can't be seen by AE

Discussion of general issues, not related to a specific Mac or iDevice operating system.
Post Reply
crabx2
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:26 am

cable modem can't be seen by AE

Post by crabx2 » Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:35 am

help!......... just replaced my cable modem w/ new identical moto 5120 and now airport extreme can't see it ..says nothing attached to wan port?????????????? any thoughts? have done various power cycle, connection sequence etc.............john 683.3013

User avatar
Richard Serkes
Forum Member - Level 5
Forum Member - Level 5
Posts: 1027
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 9:21 pm
Location: Port Angeles, WA

Re: cable modem can't be seen by AE

Post by Richard Serkes » Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:51 pm

Power down both the modem and the Airport for a full 10 minutes. Go so far as to unplug them. Disconnect both ends of the Ethernet cable you're using.

Next, power up the modem and wait for all the indicator lights to stop blinking. Then connect the Ethernet cable to both the modem and the Airport making sure you have a good connection. Finally, plug in the Airport. Wait for the light to glow green.

Is it working now?
---
Always burn your bridges. You never know who's coming up from behind.

User avatar
bluesky
Forum Member - Level 3
Forum Member - Level 3
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:03 am
Location: Sequim-Port Angeles
Contact:

Re: cable modem can't be seen by AE

Post by bluesky » Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:06 pm

Make sure the ethernet cable is plugged into the WAN (Wide Area Network) port on the back of the Airport Extreme. The symbol is like a little sun or gear. Not the <> symbols.
"All computers wait at the same speed."

crabx2
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:26 am

Re: cable modem can't be seen by AE

Post by crabx2 » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:25 am

did all those things many times......left all unplugged for hours.....ae was fine previously, have internet with modem direct to mac.......?????????

User avatar
Richard Serkes
Forum Member - Level 5
Forum Member - Level 5
Posts: 1027
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 9:21 pm
Location: Port Angeles, WA

Re: cable modem can't be seen by AE

Post by Richard Serkes » Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:19 am

Is your Airport still on warranty? If so, call Applecare. If not, you might consider posting this question on the Apple Support Forum. Because you had no problems with the old modem but the installation of the new modem has caused this disturbance, I'm thinking that it's just a setting somewhere in the Airport Utility that needs to be dealt with but I've never worked with that utility so I have no advice.
---
Always burn your bridges. You never know who's coming up from behind.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests