Page 1 of 2

In Finder "Sidebar" What is "Shared"

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:31 pm
by Barbara Wilson
I have three names listed under the "shared" heading in the Finder sidebar.

They are:
Back to My Mac
Connected servers
Bonjour Computers

In the boxes preceding these names were check marks. I have "un"checked the one for Bonjour Computers, figuring the other two may be 'safe". But I do not know how to search out info on these names, or exactly what I am sharing with them.

At last Wednesday's SMUG meeting my husband signed onto the SMUG network and suddenly found two names under the "Shared" heading (one was "Karen Cole's computer", but he doesn't recall the other name). He consulted with Richard (?) who thought these people might have unsecured computers or cell phones at the meeting (or in hindsight, in the building?)

Our home router and my Mac are password protected, but what happens when we sign on with the SMUG network, or in some "internet cafe" ?

What are we sharing and with whom?

Thanks for help.

Re: In Finder "Sidebar" What is "Shared"

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 6:26 pm
by Barbara Wilson
Okay, I have another question, as well.

At the Wed night mtg Genevieve(?) was referencing "iLife 11".

My Mac was purchased on New Year's Eve (12/31/10)from Best Buy, and iLife was preinstalled, however an iLife disk was included that says "Version 11".

My icons and iDVD pages look different from the ones shown in the presentation (we were following along as she presented). She mentioned that her icons were evidence of the 2011 version.

How do I identify which version of iLife is installed in my Mac?

If I have an older version, will I lose documentation by inserting/installing the disk labeled "Version 11"?

I realize these are pretty basic questions, but I want to tread lightly as I learn my way around this Mac.

Thanks for answers.

Re: In Finder "Sidebar" What is "Shared"

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 7:32 pm
by Stephen Hart
Version numbers in iLife are confusing. Here are a couple of checkpoints:

iPhoto in iLife '11 is version 9. If you've run the various updates, 9.1.3.

GarageBand in iLife '11, if fully updated, is 6.0.2

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

At SMUG meetings in PA, there are two wifi networks you can join. One is the NOLS open network. The other is the SMUG network. If you see shared computers after joining either one, those represent other people who've also signed in. They may or may not have unsecured computers. On Macs, you can see anyone signed in, and can usually access their public folders. Mostly, you can't access anything else.

In Finder preferences, you can set which shared items show up in your sidebar. In my example, Connected servers means the other two Macs in our household, which I can access only by signing in with a password. When you have File Sharing turned on, your Mac is a "server" to any other Mac on the local area network.

Re: In Finder "Sidebar" What is "Shared"

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
by Ray Bentsen
Barbara,

The iLife Install DVD that is labeled "Version 11" is iLife '11.

It was released in October of 2010, so that should be the version that you have on your Mac.

The iLife '11 app icons are shown in the screenshot below.

I can't account for the difference between your icons and Geneva's icons, since I have not seen either.

You will not lose any of your documents by either inserting the DVD, nor by running the installer for that matter.

The purpose for having the DVD is so that you can re-install any of the iLife '11 apps, should they ever get corrupted.

;)

P.S. In the future, if you more than one question to ask about, it would be less confusing to both yourself and others if you started a new forum topic for each question.

Re: In Finder "Sidebar" What is "Shared"

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:57 pm
by Richard Serkes
Geneva wasn't using the most current version of iLife which is why your icons and hers are different. She was very careful to identify which version of each application she was using because different versions can have the same features in different places or even different feature sets.

Re: In Finder "Sidebar" What is "Shared"

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 12:00 pm
by Barbara Wilson
Thanks for the responses. I figured I may be "pushing it" to ask two questions under one heading, but I risked it because you folks seem a bit more savvy than I about this stuff :O)

Re: In Finder "Sidebar" What is "Shared"

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 12:04 pm
by Barbara Wilson
So, then, what is "Back to My Mac and Bonjour Computers as noted in Stephen's attachment (see above).

Re: In Finder "Sidebar" What is "Shared"

Posted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:33 pm
by Stephen Hart
Barbara Wilson wrote:So, then, what is "Back to My Mac and Bonjour Computers as noted in Stephen's attachment (see above).
Back to My Mac is a way to connect to your own Mac from another computer from a distance. One time at a SMUG meeting, I got on the wireless and found not only a couple of Macs in the room with me, but also my own desktop Mac at home, miles away. Setting that up is a preference.

Bonjour is Apple's new(er) name for Rendezvous, technology for connecting to printers, etc. that doesn't require any setup. Probably some other SMUG member can fill in more than I know about this.

Re: In Finder "Sidebar" What is "Shared"

Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:00 am
by JerryFreilich
The "Shared" sidebar item is a heading for any drives that your computer sees that have been set up so that you can access them. Such shared drives can be other computers on your home network or other servers on a corporate network. If the Mac sees them, they will be listed there so that you can access them. There is no "danger" in having that heading present nor is there any concern about accessing any drive that you see there. In every case such names represent computers that you are authorized and able to access.

In my house, for example, I have my desktop iMac set up so that its hard drive may be shared by other users... namely me (on my laptop), my kids (on their laptops), or other guests to our house. You set up drives for sharing in the control panel (System Preferences) labeled "Sharing."

There is no danger here... these are merely conveniences for you.

Re: In Finder "Sidebar" What is "Shared"

Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:45 am
by Richard Serkes
JerryFreilich wrote:The "Shared" sidebar item is a heading for any drives that your computer sees that have been set up so that you can access them. Such shared drives can be other computers on your home network or other servers on a corporate network. If the Mac sees them, they will be listed there so that you can access them. There is no "danger" in having that heading present nor is there any concern about accessing any drive that you see there. In every case such names represent computers that you are authorized and able to access.

In my house, for example, I have my desktop iMac set up so that its hard drive may be shared by other users... namely me (on my laptop), my kids (on their laptops), or other guests to our house. You set up drives for sharing in the control panel (System Preferences) labeled "Sharing."

There is no danger here... these are merely conveniences for you.
Jerry, please read the original post in this thread. The OP saw other computers and/or cell phones in the SHARED area at the meeting. The OP wasn't authorized to see and access these devices. To top it off these other devices were unlocked which would have allowed the OP to do all kinds of naughty things to those devices.

We need another demo on security.