Printer problem

Discussion of general issues, not related to a specific Mac or iDevice operating system.
Post Reply
KarenColes
Forum Member - Level 3
Forum Member - Level 3
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:56 pm

Printer problem

Post by KarenColes » Sun Jan 10, 2016 6:59 pm

I'm perplexed by the fact that I don't seem able to scan documents to my laptop using my printer's USB cable. The cable is connected to my MacBook Air, and it works just fine when I want to print (Epson WorkForce 845.) But if I try to scan something to my laptop, I select either "Scan to PC" or "Scan to PC (PDF) on the printer touch panel, and all I get is a message saying "Communication error. Make sure the computer is connected, then try again."

Any thoughts on what could be causing this? The computer is definitely connected, proven by the fact that it works fine for printing.

User avatar
Jay Cline
Forum Member - Level 4
Forum Member - Level 4
Posts: 540
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: A sleepy little mill town with a smokestack or two on one end.

Re: Printer problem

Post by Jay Cline » Sun Jan 10, 2016 7:09 pm

Follow these instructions:

http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/supp ... oid=201436

Let us know what the results are.
-----------------
This is where I'd normally write an impressive summary of my skills and proficiencies.

User avatar
Stephen Hart
Forum Member - Level 5
Forum Member - Level 5
Posts: 3106
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:09 am

Re: Printer problem

Post by Stephen Hart » Sun Jan 10, 2016 9:19 pm

Also, you might try scanning from Image Capture on your Mac, and/or the Epson software installed when you set up the Epson AIO. Sometimes the onboard buttons don't work.
"Design is not just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
Steve Jobs

User avatar
Bob Wiswell
Forum Member - Level 3
Forum Member - Level 3
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Printer problem

Post by Bob Wiswell » Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:55 am

I also use Image Capture to connect/scan from my printer-scanner. Open Image Capture and you should see your printer listed in the Devices column. Select it and you should be good to go. You can also open the scanner from Preview.

User avatar
Stephen Hart
Forum Member - Level 5
Forum Member - Level 5
Posts: 3106
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:09 am

Re: Printer problem

Post by Stephen Hart » Tue Jan 12, 2016 11:03 am

Open Image Capture and you should see your printer listed in the Devices column. Select it and you should be good to go. You can also open the scanner from Preview.
Photoshop opens Image Capture as well (and I imagine most painting apps), and you can import an image from System Preferences > Printers & Scanners > Open Scanner...
"Design is not just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
Steve Jobs

KarenColes
Forum Member - Level 3
Forum Member - Level 3
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:56 pm

Re: Printer problem

Post by KarenColes » Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:14 pm

Image Capture worked perfectly. Quick and easy. Thanks so much! I didn't even know there was such a thing as Image Capture. Duh!

User avatar
Stephen Hart
Forum Member - Level 5
Forum Member - Level 5
Posts: 3106
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:09 am

Re: Printer problem

Post by Stephen Hart » Tue Jan 12, 2016 7:11 pm

If your scanner is not listed, you might have to turn it on. Our Epson scanner switches off whenever we have a power outage.
"Design is not just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
Steve Jobs

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest