scanning tet to edit

Discussion of general issues, not related to a specific Mac or iDevice operating system.
Post Reply
errolloving
Forum Member - Level 2
Forum Member - Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 8:28 am

scanning tet to edit

Post by errolloving » Sat Feb 21, 2015 2:32 pm

how do I scan a printed document into documents so I can edit it?

User avatar
Stephen Hart
Forum Member - Level 5
Forum Member - Level 5
Posts: 3132
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:09 am

Re: scanning tet to edit

Post by Stephen Hart » Sat Feb 21, 2015 2:48 pm

You need optical character recognition, OCR, software.
You scanner or AIO's software may have included OCR, either built into the scanner control software or separately.
Apple's Image Capture, now used by some scanner companies, does not do OCR, but it does produce images that can then be fed into OCR software.

If you need OCR software, there are lots of choices. If you have Adobe Acrobat Pro, it can do OCR.
Here's one article with some suggestions: http://computers.tutsplus.com/tutorials ... -mac-49683

There's also software for iOS that "scans" documents and even does OCR.

I've seen reports recently that modern OCR software is pretty good. But a lot depends on the original. Odd-sized type, unusual typefaces, and printed material that's been copied are perhaps the worst source material, for example.
"Design is not just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
Steve Jobs

errolloving
Forum Member - Level 2
Forum Member - Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 8:28 am

Re: scanning tet to edit

Post by errolloving » Sat Feb 21, 2015 5:25 pm

Stephen---than k you very much

User avatar
Ray Bentsen
Administrator
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:22 pm
Location: Sequim, WA

Re: scanning tet to edit

Post by Ray Bentsen » Mon Feb 23, 2015 12:13 pm

You may already have OCR software included with your printer.

Attached is the Save dialog box from HP Scan, software provided by HP for my printer.
Attachments
Save dialog.png
Save dialog.png (62.96 KiB) Viewed 715 times
An old Norse adage: Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine.

User avatar
Stephen Hart
Forum Member - Level 5
Forum Member - Level 5
Posts: 3132
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:09 am

Re: scanning tet to edit

Post by Stephen Hart » Mon Feb 23, 2015 3:09 pm

I have an HP Scanjet G4050 and used to use HP Scan in various incarnations. Does it work for you in Yosemite?
Last time I checked, HP didn't distribute it for this scanner anymore.
Image Capture (embedded in Photoshop or Preview) works fine, but I'd have to use a Canon utility for our Canon AIO to do OCR.
"Design is not just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
Steve Jobs

User avatar
Ray Bentsen
Administrator
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:22 pm
Location: Sequim, WA

Re: scanning tet to edit

Post by Ray Bentsen » Mon Feb 23, 2015 4:12 pm

HP Scan (v4.4.1) "save as TXT" works just fine for me in Yosemite. After saving the .txt document, I just double-clicked the icon to open the file in Text Edit. I was pleasantly surprised to see that somehow the two columns of original text even parsed correctly.

:)
Attachments
Lodge Text.png
Lodge Text.png (13.24 KiB) Viewed 712 times
Lodge jpeg.png
Lodge jpeg.png (170.12 KiB) Viewed 712 times
An old Norse adage: Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest