Page 1 of 1

Time Capsule Backup

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 12:27 pm
by swifty
Every now and again I get the following message upon which after a considerable effort I manage to overcome. It would be nice however to have a simple fix for this problem.
Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 1.20.54 PM.png
Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 1.20.54 PM.png (35.14 KiB) Viewed 936 times

Re: Time Capsule Backup

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:53 pm
by Stephen Hart
If that computer is backing up to a Time Machine drive connected to another Mac, this may be just a matter of sleep/time issues.

We have two Macs at home. My iMac has a Time Machine drive wired to it by FireWire 800.
My wife's MacBook Pro backs up to the same Time Machine drive. But to do that, my iMac must be awake when the MacBook Pro's Time Machine app thinks it's time to back up. Because if my iMac isn't awake, the MacBook Pro can't see the Time Machine drive.

The MacBook Pro will keep trying hourly until it finds a time that it can back up. Meanwhile, it makes local "snapshots."

So the bottom line is that you can ignore those error messages. But you should check whether you can invoke Time Machine on the MacBook Pro and see recent backups.

If I'm off base here, just tell me and I'll research further.

Re: Time Capsule Backup

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:55 pm
by swifty
Steve,

Thanks for the quick response. In answer to you, our two Mac's are connected to the Time Capsule through a local network to which the Capsule is connected via ethernet to the router. Whether either Mac is awake or not does not seem to matter when a backup is scheduled. When I get the error message on either Mac (and I get them on both), the only fix I have found so far that works is to disconnect the Time Capsule and then reconnect it. It's messy even with airport utility. I've googled the business with sparsebundle and found that this is a common problem. However, I've not figured out the way to trouble shoot the problem using their explanations.

Re: Time Capsule Backup

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:08 pm
by Stephen Hart
So I was thinking about a Time Machine drive connected to one Mac.
Time Capsule should always be available to any Mac.

Is there any reason you can think of that the Time Capsule would be unavailable?

If not, I guess I'd clone the Time Capsule, then start from scratch and see if it still has problems. Time Capsules have hard drives, which can go bad, just like any other drive.

Re: Time Capsule Backup

Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 12:40 pm
by swifty
Stephen,

I guess where I stand now is to find out if anyone has experience with the sparse bundle issue; otherwise, I will proceed with the messy solution I have now to deal with the problem. Many thanks for your thoughts. Dick

Re: Time Capsule Backup

Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:59 pm
by Stephen Hart
The sparsebundle is a sort of package that can contain lots of files. That's what Time Machine makes when it backs up to a drive that it's not wired to. For example, my wife's MacBook Pro produces a sparcebundle when backing up because the Time Machine drive is wired by FireWire to my iMac. Her MacBook connects on the network.

If you can see the Time Capsule from any Mac, you should be able to copy the sparsebundles off for archiving. Or use Carbon Copy Cloner or Super Duper to clone the Time Capsule.
I'd do that first, then start from scratch with the Time Capsule. If that just works, you're good. If not, probably there's a problem with the drive in the Time Capsule.